Live Writer

Temporarily using a Windows desktop computer since my laptop is out of commission. It’s stuck on some eastern European language with no way to revert back, plus I can’t shut it down except for holding down the on/off button, which also is disconcerting. If I lose my Macbook I don’t know what I’m going to do. No money for another one, and I really can only work with Macs, I barely know how to turn on an Windows laptop. Well I guess I could learn : (

Anyway, Since I’m using a Windows machine I tried out Windows Live Writer. It seems to work with WordPress…haven’t tried it with Blogspot/Google Blogger, but it seems to stick inline CSS styles in with your photos and there’s no way to disable that setting.  Otherwise it’s a whole heck of a lot better than trying to write in the WordPress UI – they give you a tiny little white space and make you constantly publish and re-publish in order to update what you’ve edited. So this is an improvement, definitely. Better than using Notepad or Word to write a blog entry. I’d never thought to use Live Writer since I’d always been using a Mac/UNIX.

Note: You can download the latest Live Writer free from Microsoft but a warning – they’ll try to get you to install a slew of other crap like Messenger and Movie Maker unless you uncheck these before installing.

Leave a comment

Filed under blogging

Leave a Reply

