4 responses to “In Support of Net Diversity – Not Net “Neutrality”

  1. Pingback: Google Privacy Considerations « Wilhed

  2. Pingback: Google Privacy Considerations « IT How-tos

  3. Margaret Bartley

    I also use Clearwire. I sent out a newsletter, and I got an administration email back *with NO internet header* . I have never heard of such a thing. The subject of that newsletter was that my email was blocked, and the body of the message just pointed to a google page talking about spam.
    This was for an email sent from my clearwire account to a yahoo account, and google is intercepting it, and blocking it, and not giving any reason. I guess I should be glad they at least told us that.

    It used to be that when I sent out a newsletter, I would get 40 or 50 Out-of-office replies back; the last newsletter got 3. That means that the recipients aren’t even getting my newsletters.

    My email is being blocked, and they aren’t even telling me, much less telling me how many are not going, or who is being blocked.

    I suspect this is like the early days of the automobile.

    When cars were first invented, there were no rules of the road, people drove whereever and however they wanted. No more.

    The same thing is true of the internet. It was designed by the Defense Advance Research Project, and was never meant to be a free-for-all. I clearly remember discussions back in the mid-late 90s of computer people talking about how the goal is to have everyone logged into the net. All of the big computer companies were hoping to be the new IBM of the internet age, that would own everyone’s data and apps.

    Like everything else in life, we have a variety of ways to respond. Some options:
    1) Be oblivious.
    2) Bitch
    3) Become informed. This can be on a scale of 1 to 10. Our choice.
    4) Become an outlaw. This has the usual consequences, generally related to class position. The rich and well-connected have a greater survival chance than the rest of us.
    5) Join orgs that are trying to have an influence. Treat those orgs with the same caution as everything else, since many have hidden leadership and hidden goals, and might or might not be what they claim to be, but this is really the only way to have an impact. This is also a critical way to work on #3, since most of the good information is not publicly disseminated.

    Cheers,
    Margaret

  4. ^.^

    Spot on! Can I post your response as a blog post and cite your first name only, as a contributing author sort of thing?

Leave a Reply

